12/26/09 Ramble

Christmas day was a bit of an anti-climatic event. Don’t get me wrong, the time with my family was wonderful. It’s the very first Christmas, where no outsiders came over, no extended family was here, and there was no need to worry about the likings of grandparents or parents.
My father passed away earlier this year making this the first Christmas ever without his presence. Spiritually I know that he and mom were hanging out at the kitchen table just like they always did, but it was different. Gone were the awkward moments of Dad’s off color jokes, and the waiting for his next condescending statement. Gone also was the fear that my wife’s grandmother would break out in conversation at the dining table about this or that ailment with her VAGINA.
Train wrecks, I assume, would be far more fun to be involved in.
Much as I hate to admit it, yesterday marked the beginning of new traditions. Traditions that my little family get to make on their own. I hope to be able to incorporate some of the family traditions, the ones that meant something, that brought happy thoughts. But that may take a couple of years yet.

Robert E

Leave a Reply

