Inspired by @Novelhelp

Just a few minutes ago, maybe longer now, I was reading through the tweets on my home page. I was thinking I needed to write, nothing specific, just write for the sake of writing. I was perplexed though on the direction I wanted to write. I thought of starting on character development for a new premise I have in mind. Seemed too hard for tonight, not inspiring. I could go back to one of the stories I have started and flesh out the life of the victim.

That wasn’t it either I decided.

Then I saw this from @novelhelp “Husband snoring. Dog snoring. Cat stalking. It must be Friday night!!!.” That was it, I would write a short story about that from @novelhelp’s perspective or at least the imaginings of mine when trying to imagine her perspective.

So here it goes….

She sat at the corner of the sofa, curled with her knees under her. The woman sat with her book in her lap, and her ever present laptop on her left. She had positioned a tall glass of tea on the glass covered round table on the right of the couch earlier. Now she was ready to read, whether it be the book of the moment or the stream of tweets that kept her often entertained.

Focusing on the old style of reading words printed on paper, she looked down and began to read. As she focused on the words from the page, she noticed the sound of her husbands deep breathing as he had fallen asleep in the recliner. He had a low comfortable snore happening that made her grin a bit as she felt good in the comfort of her home. Looking up to admire the relaxation on her husbands face, she noticed too that the dog had fallen asleep on the floor.

The end of a stress filled week of work related issues that fed on themselves until they became all consuming. The quiet of the house, the relaxation in comfort, and the sounds of sleep caused a warmth to flow outward to meet her skin.

It was perfect she thought as the cat stalked across the room in pursuit of whatever it is that cats pursue.

One Response to “Inspired by @Novelhelp”

  1. Claudia Jackson Says:

    I very much enjoyed reading this story. Quite insightful. You were able to capture the “all is right with my world” feeling. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

